Please click HERE to see a map of the world and refer to this FAQ (CLICK HERE) for a brief summary of our site premise.

The World of Ierós

The world formed, it is said, when the legendary beasts clashed, bringing mountains and land masses out from beneath the churning oceans. Their scales, fur, blood and flesh fell from the skies to form flora and fauna, animals and humans, all imbued with the magic that ran through their very beings. No one knows why they came to such a violent disagreement, but there is no doubt that for as long as there have been life on the continent, the legendary beasts have been at war with one another.

Ancient texts tell of a united world in the beginning, when there was but one kingdom: the Kingdom of Ierós, which spanned the entire continent after which it was named. With three governing bodies forming a democratic republic, the people of Ierós were plagued by indecision and infighting between their leaders. In the meantime, the legendary beasts continued to wage war upon one another, causing chaos and tumult throughout the continent. 

What the governors all agreed on was that a powerful artifact called the Blinking Stone was needed to quell the angry beasts, but they could not come to an agreement as to how to use it. One wanted to eliminate the legendary beasts once and for all to bring peace to the land; another wanted to harness their powers, to bend them to the will of the humans; yet another wished to parlay with them, to find a middle ground for all to exist.

Amidst all of the fighting, the Blinking Stone vanished.

Now at a deadlock as to how best to proceed, the three factions finally split off and fractured Ierós into three separate kingdoms: The Middle Kingdom, the Yamato Kingdom and the Gauri Kingdom. For a while, each kingdom strove to settle into and establish itself. While each made slight progress toward their respective goals, it was undeniable that they were not stronger alone than together; however, it was far too late to knit the kingdoms back together. Kings and Emperors came and went, mighty heroes and powerful sorcerers arose and fell, and still there seemed no resolution to the upheaval of the world at the hands of the legendary beasts.

Then, twenty-five years ago, a cataclysmic battle between the beasts resulted in a strange phenomenon. The skies turned purple, then black, then an eerie, blinding white. Particles rained down from the clouds and were absorbed into the soil, the plants, the animals and the people. Afterward, in the deafening silence that followed, people began to change. To shift. They were suddenly and inexplicably able to adopt the forms of the animals that they had captured and enslaved to do their bidding--animals they called Pokémon

These people were dubbed shifters, and no one escaped the curse. Everyone experienced the shifting phenomenon, whether they were near a pokémon at the time or not, whether they were indoors or outside and exposed to the particles. Their children also became shifters, and their children's children. Alongside shifting came a host of new, wondrous and sometimes frightful abilities, tied in to the pokémon that one shifted into. While not much is known about how these abilities work, it is generally acknowledged that they are accessed through a greater connection to mana, which is the source of all magic.


Magic is accessible to everyone now that everyone has turned into a shifter. In so doing, they inherited the abilities of the pokémon they change into. Out of their pokémon forms, they can still tap into ley lines, which are veins of magical energy that run underground. This enables everyone to use magic according to the element of their shifter form, at any time. However, extensive research and practice is required to become powerful. Most people can only do rudimentary spells or tasks, to aid them in their every-day lives.

Linked is a chart of the different magical elements (CLICK HERE). Keep in mind that characters can only access the elements of their shifted form. While a shifter can evolve from the lower form of a Pokémon to a higher form and gain extra abilities and sometimes even a new element, whatever their current shifted form is decides what element they control. No character can have more than two elements.


Technology is limited on Ierós, consisting of basic mechanical knowledge and things called automatons, which are crude robots that perform very basic tasks. There are no PCs, for example, no cars, no phones or digital watches. (Think more of a steampunk level of technology.)

Transportation consists of Pokémon mounts, buggies, palanquins and the like. Crude hovercrafts called skimmers are also available for land and for sea; however, these are usually imbued with magic and are rare to acquire and expensive to maintain.

Apricorn balls, or simply apricorns, are used to capture Pokémon, crafted by artisans and sold ubiquitously at every marketplace. They are hollowed out from apricorn fruits and fitted with special magical and mechanical devices used to trap and tame wild Pokémon. There are seven colors of apricorns: white, blue, yellow, black, red, green and pink.

Explore the Best Apricorn Art | DeviantArt


Currency takes the form of triangular jade coins called chii, which are stamped with the crest or the face of the ruler of each respective kingdom. These coins are interchangeable across kingdoms, as their value is based on the weight of the coin rather than from a monetary denomination. (i.e. the larger the coin, the more valuable it is.) 

Dates, Times, and Months of the Year

The current year is 1412. Ierós has 12 months/year, 30 days/month and 24 hours/day, just like on Earth.
The months are named according to the Lunar Calendar and runs as follows:

Principal - January
Apricot - February
Peach - March
Plum - April
Pomegranate - May
Lotus - June
Orchid - July
Cinnamon - August
Chrysanthemum - September
Yang - October
Winter - November
Last - December


Climate and weather patterns tend to change according to the geography of the land; the Northern parts of the continent, which are mountainous, are generally frigid and cold, while the Southern hemisphere is tropical and balmy, with sand dunes and low hills. In between, the weather varies. Pockets of extreme weather can also be found where magic accumulates, resulting in places such as the Bingha Tundra, or the far-flung desert Dummarran kingdom.